I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Department of Cultural Affairs Directorate of Archaeology


  • Set up in 1961 as the Directorate of Archaeology and Museums the Directorate of Archaeology has been functioning under Education (CTM) Department as an independent Directorate since 1983. Based on its field archaeological exploration, the Directorate has listed a large number of archaeological sites and monuments which, the Directorate has brought under its protection in a phased manner on priority basis. The Directorate has set up three Zonal Offices of Conservation Officers, covering three different zones viz. Madan Kamdev in Kamrup District, Hojai in Nagaon district and the other at Na-Pukhuri in Sivasagar district to look after its listed monuments.

    The Directorate has been declared as a Level III Directorate, vide Notification No.R.19/2001/9 dated 28th January 2004. The Directorate has total 88 sanctioned posts out of which 68 posts have incumbents which included 2 posts of Registration of Antiquities, a Centrally Sponsored Scheme functioning under it, and 4 posts for Hill Areas of Assam. The Directorate of Archaeology has been brought under the Cultural Affairs Department vide Notification No.AR.15/2003/49 dated Dispur, the 2nd August, 2003.

    In order to perform its various archaeological activities, the Directorate of Archaeology, Assam is guided by the following Act and Rules –

    1. The Assam Ancient Monuments and Records Act, 1959.
    2. The Assam Ancient Monuments and Records Rules, 1964.
    3. The Antiquities and Art Treasures Act, 1972